SQF Edition 8

The SQF Institute has released the new version of the code, SQF Edition 8. Companies are expected to begin their transition to the new edition. However, certification audits that are conducted before January 2, 2018 will continue to be audited to Edition 7.2 of the Code. Audits conducted January 3, 2018 or later, will be audited to Edition 8.

What is New? An overview summary of the changes

SQF has updated the code with 4 goals in mind.

  • to better fit the needs of industry sectors,
  • to take into account the latest regulatory requirements such as FSMA,
  • to encourage continuous improvement
  • to meet requirements in the new GFSI Benchmarking Requirements in GFSI V. 7.

SQF Levels

The structure and naming of SQF levels has changed, but the basic structure has not changed.

Level 1 is now called Food Safety Fundamentals. It does not require HACCP. It is not benchmarked by GFSI.

Level 2 is now Food Safety Code. Instead of using 2 documents (module 2 + another module), you will use one. So, for example:

  • if you are using Module 2 + Module 11 in 7.2, you will use Food Safety Code for Manufacturers in Edition 8.
  • If you are using Module 2 + Module 13 in 7.2, you will use Food safety Code for Manufacture of Packaging Materials in Edition 8.

There are 5 sectors.

  1. Primary Production (modules 5, 6, 7, 7H, 8) now referred to as Food Safety Fundamentals) a
  2. Manufacturing (Modules 3, 4, 9, 10, 11). Now includes Pet Food and Animal Feed.
  3. Storage and Distribution (Module 12)
  4. Manufacture of Packaging Materials (Module 13)
  5. Retail (new, Module 15)

Level 3 is now knows as Quality. This will include system elements relating to quality. The results of your quality audit will not affect the score of your food safety audit.

You may download the SQF 8 Code for free at SQFI.

Training Courses for SQF Edition 8 now Available

View a list of the new courses available

Training FAQs

Do I need Edition 7.2 or Edition 8.0?

If your company’s SQF Certification audit is in 2017, your company will be audited to Edition 7.2 If it is in 2018, your company will be audited to the Edition 8 requirements.

If I am trained on Edition 7.2 do I need to be retrained on Edition 8?

Being trained on Edition 8 is an excellent way to learn the new requirements and demonstrate knowledge of SQF version 8. The code requires that the practitioner understands requirements, but does not identify specific training for upgrading to version 8.

Information about our training courses for Edition 8 of SQF

Is there a class or templates that only cover the changes?

At this time we have full training courses and documentation packages, and not a training or documents focused only on the changes. If you are interested in using our documentation and training, it will cover all of the requirements of Edition 8. Trainees would be trained on all of the requirements. To use the document templates, you would choose if you want to use all of the procedures and forms, or adopt some of them and then make modifications to your existing procedures where that is more efficient for you. In both cases our documentation would give you good examples of documentation that describes compliant processes.